Wednesday, January 21, 2015

HE Bioscience Teacher of the Year 2015

HE Bioscience Teacher of the Year The Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award seeks to identify the UK's leading bioscience Higher Education teachers recognizing the invaluable role played by teachers in HE. This award is run by Oxford University Press, The Society of Biology and the Heads of University Biosciences. The award recognizes outstanding learning and teaching practice in the biosciences. The competition is open to all employed bioscience teachers in the UK HE system and rewards lecturers who:
  • Display individual excellence through the design and development of approaches to teaching that have proven successful in promoting bioscience student learning and achievement
  • Undertake scholarly and professional developmental activities that actively influence and enhance the learning of their students
  • Support colleagues and influence bioscience student learning beyond their own department and institution

The finalists for the HE Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award 2015 have just been announced and they are:
Dr Alan Cann, University of Leicester
Dr Mark Clements, University of Westminster
Dr Dave Lewis, University of Leeds
Dr Sohag Saleh, Imperial College London
Congratulations to my fellow shortlisted candidates and to all those who were nominated for this year's award. The finalists will now begin the rigorous second stage of the judging process, involving the completion and presentation of a case study, and a 45 minute interview with the judging panel. The winner will be announced at the Heads of University Biosciences (HUBS) Spring Meeting, at Chicheley Hall, Buckinghamshire at the beginning of May.

No comments:

Post a Comment